Disneyland Double Dare 2017 · Dopey 2018 · RunDisney · running · Sunday post · training

The Road to Dopey – Week 73: Dear Past-Addie…

18301512_703091733229381_8631275807734509430_n

June Miles: 55.0
June Average Pace: 13:35
2017 Miles to Date: 391.4
Streak Day: 235 (Maximum: 235)
June Goal: 65.0 miles

RW Summer Streak Day: 21

fullsizerender

Days to Disneyland Double Dare: 74
Days to my first marathon: 91
Days to Dopey: 200

Dear Past-Addie,

There are only 4 weekends in June, not 5. Please realize this when you are writing your Dopey training plan in January. It will make a difference in how you schedule your runs. And it will be difficult to correct in June when you discover your mistake. So save us both the trouble, and get it right to begin with.

Sincerely, Current-Addie

That is the letter I would like to send myself. Because that is what I am dealing with right now. But how did I get here? Let’s go back to where we left off last week.

Sunday I had completed my 4 mile “long run” with a 12 mile long run scheduled for Monday. I did complete my 12 miles, thankful for the cooler weather, thankful it didn’t rain, and wishing it hadn’t been so windy. The was the farthest I had run in one go since March (!) and it also was one of the best average paces for a run that long I’ve seen at this elevation. So, all-in-all, I called it a success.

Tuesday, I did a shakeout run, Wednesday I did 3 instead of 4 because of some IT troubles, Thursday was another shakeout, and Friday was a 4 miler.

Yesterday, I ran 3 miles with the intention of running 4 or 5 today. I thought I needed 5 miles this weekend in my training plan, but I looked at my plan and I only needed 3. On top of that, I was scheduled for another back-to-back long run of 5 and 15 next weekend, not the 6 I thought I had on the docket. And then, on top of THAT, I realized I had my training plan written like there were 5 weekends in June and 5 in July (instead of 4 and 5, which is what this year actually looks like). Which means I currently have one extra weekend of runs scheduled. I’m currently trying to figure out where I’m cutting a shorter weekend. Luckily, I have some time to figure it out.

Today I only did a mile to keep my streak alive, but no more, since I had the mileage wrong in my head and my IT’s needed stretching. With the correction of what I thought my training plan was, here’s the plan for this week:

  • Monday: 2 mile easy run
  • Tuesday: 4 mile run
  • Wednesday: Hill Repeats
  • Thursday: 4 mile run
  • Friday: 2 mile easy run
  • Saturday: 15 mile run
  • Sunday: 5 mile run

I’m reversing the back-to-back long runs because I have to travel on Sunday afternoon and I’m not interested in running 15 miles and then being in a car for a very long drive. Should be an interesting week. Next Sunday I’ll let you know how it went, and, hopefully, have a solution to past-Addie’s blunder.

Leave a Reply

