Operation 2015 · running

Operation 2015: Like Running in the Rain (or A PR, a Dedication, and a 13.1 mile March)

Good morning readers!

Well, I’m another month closer to completing Operation 2015!!!

In case you missed them, in January I did a 16.2 mile race weekend running a 5K Saturday and then a half marathon on Sunday. It was my first ever 5K (so automatic PR) and a new PR for my half.

In February , I ran all three races in the runDisney Princess Half Marathon weekend for a total of 22.4 miles. It was my first ever Disney event, but will not be my last.

Now, for March, I ran a half marathon yesterday.

Flat Addie

I had so much fun running in the really simple sparkly skirts that I made for Disney and they had little to no impact on my performance, so I’ve decided to take some of the RawThreads tees I’ve purchased in the past couple of months and pair them with skirts for all my races for Operation 2015. This race, I chose to be Mulan, mostly because of the “Warrior” shirt. I needed the strength of a warrior since I had been sporadically training since Disney and because I was dedicating this run to a friend who is very sick. She is a warrior.

This was another race with firsts for me, as it was the first time I had run in the rain, really. I usually don’t train if the conditions aren’t ideal as far as weather goes, which is probably a mistake, but this race was to start and occur in the rain.

But despite the rain, we were off before we knew it (almost literally, the gun went off with little to no warning from the race officials. It was very disconcerting, but I tried not to let it affect my game. I made it out of the start and was actually moving at a fairly good pace for me for the first few miles.

My book group ladies braved the rain to cheer me on, first at mile 4. It was still raining then, but I was determined to keep going…just being mindful of slick spots and puddles.

I’m in red behind the full gear Army guys…if they could do it, so could I, I said!

Around mile 5, the hills kicked in. No matter how many local races I run, I never am ready for the hills. Hopefully some crosstraining in the next few months will give me the strength to be able to tackle them a little more capably. To give you an idea of the hills I was contending with, once again, my phone said I had climbed 10 flights of stairs at the end of the race!

I saw my book club ladies again at mile 9. Unlike races past, I could still see people in front of and behind me, which was comforting. It helped me know I was still following the right path and that I wasn’t going to be swept. As I approached mile 10, I reached familiar paths and I knew the finish line was only a 5K away. I was going to finish. For myself and for Sarah.
And there I am coming down the bridge and across the finish line. At the crest of that hill, I stopped walking and started running (I’d been walking exclusively since between  miles 10-11). I looked at Sarah’s picture on my bib and I told her this was for her and I ran toward the finish and the clock that was showing 2 minutes less than my PR. “I have to make it there before it hits 3:19” I told myself. I needed that PR. 
And I did. I finished. I dedicated it to Sarah. And I ran a new PR.
Operation 2015 will bring a 10-miler in April. Hopefully with some consistent running and cross-training, it will be a great race!

Leave a comment